Zeiss Ikon Ikophot Rapid

CameraCollection_59__DSC3703In the past, any serious photographer would have a light meter unless his/her camera is “high-tech” enough to have a built-in meter. Today, most people do not need one because modern cameras, even for a simple digital point-and-shoot, would have a highly sophisticated light meter. My wife’s entry-level digital compact has a TTL 256 zones metering system. It does not only measure the light but also analyze the results before translating them into exposure settings. The only people nowadays who need a light meter are mostly photographers who shoot with studio strobes and/or large format cameras plus those (like me) who use classic cameras without built-in meters.

The Zeiss Ikon Ikophot Rapid is a handheld meter made in the 1950’s by Zeiss Ikon in Stuttgart, Germany. It is a battery-less selenium cell reflective meter. Selenium is an element that would generate voltage when striked by light. This voltage is high enough to drive the meter needle or even operate a simple automatic exposure system. However, compared to battery operated meters that use silicon and CdS (Cadium sulfide), selenium is not very sensitive and thus making it only useful in daytime outdoor and very bright indoor situations. Almost all meters (handheld or built-in) that use selenium cells would have the “bubble glass” at the front shown in the close-up of the Ikophot Rapid below:

CameraCollection_60__DSC3705

The Ikophot Rapid uses a simple match needle system (see first photo) which means the selenium cell will drive the meter needle and the all the user need to do is to set the film speed (ASA/DIN) and move the flag needle (the one with a circle) to the meter needle’s position. The shutter speeds and apretures are then read from the meter dail as shown in the photo above. Beside being an useful tool to measure light, I found that the dail on the meter serves as a great tool in teaching relationships between film speed, shutter speed and apreture to beginners (just look at the photo above and you will know what I mean).

There is a calibration switch at the bottom of the meter but possibly because of sophisticated German craftmanship, the meter is still highly accurate even without calibration. Before I fine-tuned the meter, I did the following tests:

Photo above was shot in digital with meter readings without any adjustment and post-processing. Photo below is based on the same exposure setting but with a slight shift in its histogram.

Again, photo above is shot according to meter reading. The house and the street is underexposed but the beautiful sky is retained. This is expected as any average meter will give the same result. I decided not to increase the exposure to compentsate because the sensor of the DSLR used is quite capable in retaining shadow details but weak in doing so for the highlights. Thus, back home I did some degree of shadow detail recovery and enhanced the saturation to get the photo below.

Finally, a friendly note on maintaining selenium meters. Selenium cells have limited lifespans, to keep them “alive” for as long as possible: avoid prolonged exposure to lights (i.e. cover the bubble glass when not in use) and keep it away from moisture (unknown to many, moisture is even more “evil” to selenium meters!).

Status: In Collection

This entry was posted in Flashes and Others. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zeiss Ikon Ikophot Rapid

  1. Sarah says:

    Hello, I wonder if you can help me. I recently bought the above meter in a second hand shop. The needle moves freely and reacts to light – so I assume the cells still have life in them. The trouble I have is I can’t read the ASA numbers. Does the 40 relate to 400 iso film?? I use 50, 125, and 400 iso films. I have tried to google it and come up with varing answers. Can you explain the numbers or convert to ISO for me. Many thanks Sarah.

    • Sorry for the late reply. I have looked through the dail on my meter and could not seem to dind the scale you mentioned. Would it be possible that you reply this comment with a attached photo of the dail?

      • Werm says:

        Hello! I have a used Ikophot meter, the model is different from yours, it’s the one with the white display. When I bought it didnt react to light at all, I thought it was dead, so I went and opened it, to see how it worked I was messing around and suddenly it moved, when I’m messing with it in some positions it reacts to light but I cant really seem to figure out what is wrong and makes it “die”. The cell must be the black rectangle (i’m wondering) and the meter reacts when I mess with this cell and its contacts. I was wondering if you could help me fix it.

      • Sorry, I don’t think I can offer any help except that you might want to try the following forum:
        http://www.kyphoto.com/cgi-bin/forum/discus.cgi

Leave a Reply

